Institute Staff

University of North Carolina (UNC) Old Well logo

Brenda Bright

Title: Librarian
Email: brenda_bright@unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #279A
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 122
Melynie Connor, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Human Resources

Melynie Connor

Title: Institute Human Resources
Email: connorma@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #151
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 121
Stacy Davis, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Facilities Manager

Stacy Davis

Title: Facilities Manager
Email: smdavis@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #268
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 142
Wayne Fluellen, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Facility Maintenance Technician

Wayne Fluellen

Title: Facility Maintenance Technician
Email: fluellen@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #168
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 163
Philip Herbst, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Facility Maintenance Technician

Philip Herbst

Title: Facility Maintenance Technician
Email: phili@email.unc.edu 
Office: Shop
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 131
Megan Hunter is an administrative assistant at the UNC Institute of Marine Sciences

Megan Hunter

Title: Business Services Coordinator
Email: hunterml@live.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #152
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 123
Kerry Irish, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Communications

Kerry Irish

Title: Communications
Email: Irish@unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #111
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 126
Wayne Johannessen, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Business Officer

Wayne Johannessen

Title: Business Officer
Email: waynejoh@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #152
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 124
Claude Lewis, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Facility Maintenance Technician and Building Trades

Claude Lewis

Title: Facility Maintenance Technician & Building Trades
Email: dclewis@email.unc.edu
Office: Shop
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 143
Deanna Napier, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Administrative Assistant

Deanna Napier

Title: Administrative Assistant
Email: DeannaNapier@unc.edu
Office: IMS Lobby
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 120
Photo of Ryan Neve, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences IT technical support and engineer in the Luettich Lab

Ryan Neve

Title: IT and Engineering Support
Email: neve@email.unc.edu
Office: 277
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 164
Nadine Potter, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Building Environmental Service Technician

Nadine Potter

Title: Building Environmental Service Tech
Email: npotter@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #230
Phone: 252.726.3536
Joe Purifoy is the Research Vessel Captain for the UNC Institute of Marine Sciences

Joe Purifoy

Title: Research Vessel Captain
Email: jpurifoy@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #265
Phone: 252.726.0338
Joe Purifoy is the Building Environmental Service Technician at the UNC Institute of Marine Sciences

Jimmy Smith

Title: Building Environmental Service Technician
Email: jimmy61@email.unc.edu
Office: None
Phone: 252.726.6841 ext 62