Skip to main content

Faculty

Stephen Fegley

Research Associate Professor, Emeritus
srfegley@email.unc.edu


Marine Biology/Ecology

F. Joel Fodrie

Associate Professor
jfodrie@unc.edu

252.726.6841 ext 149
Coastal Biological Oceanography

Rachel Gittman

Adjunct Research Professor
gittmanr17@ecu.edu


Marine community ecology, restoration ecology, coastal management and policy
Nathan Hall is a Research Scientist in the Paerl Lab at UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences

Nathan Hall

Assistant Professor
nshall@email.unc.edu

252.726.6841 ext 228

James Hench

Adjunct Research Professor
jim.hench@duke.edu


Shallow water circulation, physical-biological interactions, marine technology

Yiping Li

Adjunct Research Professor
liyiping@hhu.edu.cn



UNC Institute of Marine Science faculty member Niels Lindquist

Niels L. Lindquist

Professor
nlindquist@unc.edu

252.726.6841 ext 136
Chemical Ecology

Wayne Litaker

Adjunct Research Professor
wayne.litaker@noaa.gov



Rick Luettich

Alumni Distinguished Professor; Director, Institute of Marine Sciences; Director, Center for Natural Hazards Resilience
Rick_Luettich@unc.edu

252.726.6841 ext 137
Coastal Hazards / Physical Oceanography

Rachel Noble

Mary and Watts Hill Jr. Distinguished Professor
rtnoble@email.unc.edu

252.726.6841 ext 150
Marine Ecology / Water Quality

Janet Nye

Adjunct Research Professor
jnye@email.unc.edu



Hans Paerl

Kenan Distinguished Professor
hans_paerl@unc.edu

252.726.6841 ext 133
Microbial Ecology / Nutrient Cycling
UNC Institute of Marine Sciences faculty member Charles 'Pete' Peterson

Charles “Pete” Peterson

Alumni Distinguished Professor, Emeritus
cpeters@email.unc.edu


Coastal Habitat Valuation and Restoration
UNC Institute of Marine Sciences IMS Dr. Mike Piehler

Mike Piehler

Professor; Director, UNC Institute for the Environment
Piehler@unc.edu

252.726.6841 ext 160
Coastal Ecology / Biogeochemistry
UNC Institute of Marine Sciences IMS Dr. Johanna Rosman

Johanna Rosman

Associate Professor
jrosman@unc.edu

252.726.6841 ext 224
Coastal and Estuarine Fluid Dynamics