Skip to main content

All People

Taylor Asher, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Luettich Lab Member

Taylor Asher

Title: Graduate Student
Email: tgasher@live.unc.edu
Office:

Chris Bailie

Title: Postdoctoral Researcher (ECU)
Email: baillie@email.unc.edu
Office:

Malcolm Barnard

Title: Graduate Student
Email: malcolm.barnard@unc.edu
Office:

Martin Benavides

Title: Graduate Student
Email: benavides@unc.edu
Office:

Tami Bennett

Title: Research Technician
Email: tamib@email.unc.edu
Office:

Denene Blackwood, Research Technician within the Noble Lab at UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences

Denene Blackwood

Title: Research Technician
Email: adb@med.unc.edu
Office:

photo of UNC Institute of Marine Sciences graduate student Molly Bost

Molly Bost

Title: Graduate Student & Research Technician
Email: mbost@live.unc.edu
Office:

Jeremy Braddy, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Paerl Lab ResearchTechnician

Jeremy Braddy

Title: Research Technician
Email: jbraddy@email.unc.edu
Office:

University of North Carolina (UNC) Old Well logo

Brenda Bright

Title: Librarian
Email: brenda_bright@unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #279A

Steve Broadhurst

Title: Diver Safety Officer
Email: UNC.DSO@unc.edu
Office: 168 Coker Hall

Michelle Brodeur is a UNC Institute of Marine Sciences graduate student and Fodrie Lab Member

Michelle Brodeur

Title: Alumni
Email:
Office:

Chelsea Brown

Title: Research Technician
Email: chelsmb@live.unc.edu
Office:

Rachel Canty

Rachel Canty

Title: Graduate Student
Email: rcanty@live.unc.edu
Office:

Mark Ciesielski

Title:
Email: mciesi3@unc.edu
Office:

Tommy Clerkin

Title: Research Technician
Email:
Office:

Dr. Joey Crosswell is a UNC alumni and previous member of the Paerl Lab who studied at UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences

Joey Crosswell

Title: Alumni
Email:
Office:

Stacy Davis, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Facilities Manager

Stacy Davis

Title: Facilities Manager
Email: smdavis@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #268

Charles Deaton

Charlie Deaton

Title: Graduate Student
Email: cddeaton@live.unc.edu
Office: 110 Coker Hall

Luke Dodd is a UNC Institute of Marine Sciences graduate student and a Piehler Lab Member

Luke Dodd

Title:
Email:
Office:

Sarah Donaher

Title: Graduate Student
Email: sdonaher@live.unc.edu
Office:

Linghan Dong

Linghan Dong

Title: Graduate Student
Email: lhdong@email.unc.edu
Office: 254 Coker Hall

Stephen Fegley

Title: Research Associate Professor, Emeritus
Email: srfegley@email.unc.edu
Office:

Wayne Fluellen, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Facility Maintenance Technician

Wayne Fluellen

Title: Facility Maintenance Technician
Email: fluellen@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #168

F. Joel Fodrie

Title: Associate Professor
Email: jfodrie@unc.edu
Office:

Crystal Fulcher, Research Technician within the Luettich Lab at UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences

Crystal Fulcher

Title: Research Technician
Email: cfulcher@email.unc.edu
Office:

Jie Gao, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Luettich Lab Member

Jie Gao

Title: Alumni
Email: jiegao@email.unc.edu
Office:

Rachel Gittman

Title: Adjunct Research Professor
Email: gittmanr17@ecu.edu
Office:

Adam Gold

Adam Gold

Title: Graduate Student
Email: acgold@live.unc.edu
Office:

Jana Haddad

Jana Haddad

Title: Graduate Student
Email: jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Office:

Nathan Hall is a Research Scientist in the Paerl Lab at UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences

Nathan Hall

Title: Assistant Professor
Email: nshall@email.unc.edu
Office:

Justin Hart

Justin Hart

Title: Graduate Student
Email: justhart@live.unc.edu
Office: 265 Coker Hall

James Hench

Title: Adjunct Research Professor
Email: jim.hench@duke.edu
Office:

Philip Herbst, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Facility Maintenance Technician

Philip Herbst

Title: Facility Maintenance Technician
Email: phili@email.unc.edu 
Office: Shop

Alex Hounshell

Alex Hounshell

Title:
Email: alexgh@live.unc.edu
Office:

Megan Hunter is an administrative assistant at the UNC Institute of Marine Sciences

Megan Hunter

Title: Business Services Coordinator
Email: hunterml@live.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #152

Kerry Irish, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Communications

Kerry Irish

Title: Communications
Email: Irish@unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #111

Kelsey Jesser, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Noble Lab Member

Kelsey Jesser

Title: Graduate Student
Email: kjesser@live.unc.edu
Office:

Wayne Johannessen, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Business Officer

Wayne Johannessen

Title: Business Officer
Email: waynejoh@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #152

Danielle Keller

Danielle Keller

Title: Graduate Student
Email: dabbey@email.unc.edu
Office: Not Listed

Matt Kenworthy

Matthew Kenworthy

Title: Alumni
Email: mkenwor@email.unc.edu
Office:

Zofia Knorek

Title: PhD Student
Email: zofia@live.unc.edu
Office:

Ian Kroll

Ian Kroll

Title: Doctoral Graduate
Email: ikroll@email.unc.edu
Office: 163 Coker Hall

Melissa LaCroce

Title: Research Technician
Email: lacrocem@email.unc.edu
Office:

Kellen Laurer is a UNC Institute of Marine Sciences graduate student and a Noble Lab Member

Kellen Laurer

Title:
Email:
Office:

Claude Lewis, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Facility Maintenance Technician and Building Trades

Claude Lewis

Title: Facility Maintenance Technician & Building Trades
Email: dclewis@email.unc.edu
Office: Shop

Yiping Li

Title: Adjunct Research Professor
Email: liyiping@hhu.edu.cn
Office:

UNC Institute of Marine Science faculty member Niels Lindquist

Niels Lindquist

Title: Professor
Email: nlindquist@unc.edu
Office:

Wayne Litaker

Title: Adjunct Research Professor
Email: wayne.litaker@noaa.gov
Office:

Sarah Loftus

Title: Communications
Email: seloftus@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker 111

Jonathan Lucas is a graduate student within the UNC-CH Department of Marine Sciences currently studying at the Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City on the coast of North Carolina and is a member of the Fodrie lab

Jonathan Lucas

Title: Graduate Student
Email: jonlucas@live.unc.edu
Office:

Rick Luettich

Title: Alumni Distinguished Professor; Director, Institute of Marine Sciences; Director, Center for Natural Hazards Resilience
Email: Rick_Luettich@unc.edu
Office:

Carson Miller

Title: Graduate Student
Email: carsonm@live.unc.edu
Office:

Marianna Miller

Title: Research Technician
Email: mardiane@live.unc.edu
Office:

James Morley is a Post Doctoral Research Associate in the Fodrie Lab at UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences

James Morley

Title: Post Doctoral Research Associate
Email: jwmorley@email.unc.edu
Office:

Owen Mulvey-McFerron

Title: Graduate Student
Email: mulveymo@live.unc.edu
Office:

Deanna Napier, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Administrative Assistant

Deanna Napier

Title: Administrative Assistant
Email: DeannaNapier@unc.edu
Office: IMS Lobby

Photo of Ryan Neve, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences IT technical support and engineer in the Luettich Lab

Ryan Neve

Title: IT and Engineering Support
Email: neve@email.unc.edu
Office: 277

Rachel Noble

Title: Mary and Watts Hill Jr. Distinguished Professor
Email: rtnoble@email.unc.edu
Office:

Janet Nye

Title: Adjunct Research Professor
Email: jnye@email.unc.edu
Office:

Libby O'Malley

Title: Development Manager
Email: eomalley@email.unc.edu
Office:

Kathleen Onorevole

Kathleen Onorevole

Title: Doctoral Graduate
Email: onorevol@live.unc.edu
Office: 266 Coker Hall

Hans Paerl

Title: Kenan Distinguished Professor
Email: hans_paerl@unc.edu
Office:

Photo of Misty Parrish

Misty Parrish

Title: Institute Human Resources
Email: parrmi@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #151

Avery Paxton

Avery Paxton

Title: Alumni
Email: abpaxton@live.unc.edu
Office: 261 Coker Hall

UNC Institute of Marine Sciences faculty member Charles 'Pete' Peterson

Charles "Pete" Peterson

Title: Alumni Distinguished Professor, Emeritus
Email: cpeters@email.unc.edu
Office:

UNC Institute of Marine Sciences IMS Dr. Mike Piehler

Michael Piehler

Title: Professor; Director, UNC Institute for the Environment
Email: Piehler@unc.edu
Office:

Haley Plaas

Title:
Email: hplaas@live.unc.edu
Office:

Jeff Plumlee

Title: PhD Student
Email: jplumlee@live.unc.edu
Office:

Abigail Poray - UNC Institute of Marine Sciences - Fodrie Lab Administrator

Abigail Poray

Title: Lab Administrator
Email: abigail.poray@unc.edu
Office:

Nadine Potter, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences Staff Member - Building Environmental Service Technician

Nadine Potter

Title: Building Environmental Service Tech
Email: npotter@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #230

Matt Price

Title:
Email: mtprice@ad.unc.edu
Office:

Joe Purifoy is the Research Vessel Captain for the UNC Institute of Marine Sciences

Joe Purifoy

Title: Research Vessel Captain
Email: jpurifoy@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #265

John Ratcliff

Title:
Email: jddratli@live.unc.edu
Office:

Justin Ridge

Justin Ridge

Title: Alumni
Email: jtridge@email.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #110

Dr. Anthony Rodriguez is a faculty member at UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences (IMS) in Morehead City, NC

Antonio Rodriguez

Title: Professor
Email: abrodrig@email.unc.edu
Office:

Grace Roskar

Title: Lab Tech
Email:
Office:

UNC Institute of Marine Sciences IMS Dr. Johanna Rosman

Johanna Rosman

Title: Associate Professor
Email: jrosman@unc.edu
Office:

Karen Rossignol

Title: Research Technician
Email: krossign@email.unc.edu
Office:

Image of visiting Ph.D. Student Julia Seveno

Julie Seveno

Title: Visiting PhD student
Email:
Office:

Randy Sloup, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Paerl Lab Technician

Randy Sloup

Title: Research Technician
Email: randys@email.unc.edu
Office:

Anne Smiley

Title:
Email: ahsmiley@live.unc.edu
Office:

Jess Smith, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Luettich Lab Member

Jess Smith

Title: Graduate Student
Email: jsmith22@live.unc.edu
Office: 3105A Murray Hall, UNC-Chapel Hill

Joe Purifoy is the Building Environmental Service Technician at the UNC Institute of Marine Sciences

Jimmy Smith

Title: Building Environmental Service Technician
Email: jimmy61@email.unc.edu
Office: None

Carter Smith, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Peterson Lab Member

Carter Smith

Title: Graduate Student
Email: Scarters@live.unc.edu
Office: 266 Coker Hall

Greg Sorg

Greg Sorg

Title: Graduate Student
Email: sorg@live.unc.edu
Office: Coker Hall #261

Mark Stoops

Title:
Email: majastoo@email.unc.edu
Office:

Jessamin Straub is a graduate student and Rodriguez Lab Member within the Department of Marine Sciences at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill UNC-CH

Jessamin Straub

Title: Graduate Student
Email:
Office:

Savannah Swinnea

Title: Lab Technician
Email:
Office:

Ethan Theuerkauf is a UNC Institute of Marine Sciences graduate student and a Rodriguez Lab Member

Ethan Theuerkauf

Title:
Email:
Office:

Suzanne Thompson, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Piehler Lab Manager

Suzanne Thompson

Title: Research Technician
Email: sthompso@email.unc.edu
Office:

Maxwell Tice-Lewis

Maxwell Tice-Lewis

Title: Graduate Student
Email: mwell13@email.unc.edu
Office: 176 Coker Hall

Olivia Torano, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Piehler Lab Member

Olivia Torano

Title: Graduate Student
Email: omtorano@email.unc.edu
Office: 266 Coker Hall

Bryce Van-Dam

Bryce Van Dam

Title: Graduate Student
Email: bvandam@live.unc.edu
Office: 206 Coker Hall

Rebecca Gaesser is a graduate student and Peterson Lab Member within UNC's Department of Biology currently studying at the UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences in Morehead City, NC

Rebecca Van Hoeck

Title: PhD Student
Email: rebeccavh@unc.edu
Office:

Christine Voss, Coastal Habitat & Ecosystem Ecologist and Research Associate within the Peterson Lab at UNC's Institute of Marine Sciences

Christine Voss

Title: Research Scientist
Email: cvoss@email.unc.edu
Office:

Anthony "Tony" Whipple, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Luettich Lab Technician

Anthony Whipple

Title: Research Technician
Email: whipple@email.unc.edu
Office:

Mollie Yacano

Title: Graduate Student
Email: moyacano@live.unc.edu
Office:

Amy Yarnall, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, Fodrie Lab Member

Amy Yarnall

Title: Graduate Student
Email: amyhalli@live.unc.edu
Office:

Lauren Yeager

Title: Adjunct Faculty
Email: lyeager@utexas.edu
Office:

Erika Young is a UNC Institute of Marine Sciences graduate student and a Peterson Lab Member

Erika Young

Title:
Email:
Office:

David Zak

Title: Lab Tech
Email:
Office:

Stacy Zhang

Title: Postdoctoral researcher
Email:
Office:

Shelby Ziegler

Shelby Ziegler

Title: Graduate Student
Email: sziegler@live.unc.edu
Office: