Skip to content

contact

contact us

 

visiting

From Chapel Hill/RTP/Raleigh-Durham Airport:
Travel east on I-40
Merge onto US-70 E via exit 306 towards Clayton, Smithfield and Goldsboro
Use US-70 Bypass E around Smithfield, Goldsboro and Kinston
Continue on US-70 E into Morehead City
US-70 will become Arendell Street
IMS entrance is on the right at 3431 Arendell Street

Click here for mapquest link.

 

main office

Deanna Napier
Administrative Assistant
deannanapier@unc.edu
T 252.726.6841  ext 120
F 252.726.2426

 

resident faculty

Stephen R. Fegley Research Associate Professor srfegley@email.unc.edu
F. Joel Fodrie Assistant Professor jfodrie@unc.edu
Brett Froelich Research Assistant Professor bafroelich@unc.edu
Niels L. Lindquist Professor nlindquist@unc.edu
Rick Luettich Director and Professor rick_luettich@unc.edu
Rachel T. Noble Associate Professor rtnoble@email.unc.edu
Hans W. Paerl William R. Kenan Professor hans_paerl@unc.edu
Charles H. Peterson Alumni Distinguished Professor cpeters@email.unc.edu
Michael F. Piehler Associate Professor mpiehler@email.unc.edu
Antonio B. Rodriguez Associate Professor abrodrig@email.unc.edu
Johanna Rosman Research Assistant Professor jrosman@email.unc.edu
Frank J. Schwartz Professor fjs@email.unc.edu

 

staff

Betsy Abare Research Technician babare@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 227
Emelie Andersson Research Technician emelie@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 166
Denene Blackwood Research Technician adb@med.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 141
Molly Bost Research Technician mbost@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext
Jeremy Braddy Research Technician jbraddy@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 228
Brenda Bright Librarian brenda_bright@unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 122
Melynie Connor Human Resources connorma@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 121
Stacy Davis Facilities Maintenance Supervisor smdavis@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 142
Wayne Fluellen Maintenance Mechanic fluellen@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 163
Crystal Fulcher Research Technician cfulcher@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 178
Philip Herbst Facility Maint Tech  pherbst@unc.edu  252 726-6841 ext 131
Kar Howe IT Support Analyst kar_howe@unc.edu 252 269-7866
Kerry Irish Communications and Outreach irishk@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 126
Alan Joyner Illustrator arjoyner@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 135
David Kochan Research Technician  dpkochan@email.unc.edu  252 726-6841 ext 219
Claude Lewis Maintenance Mechanic claudielewis33@yahoo.com 252 726-6841 ext 143
Jasmine McAdams Research Technician jasmine9@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 220
Carson Miller Research Technician carsonm@live.unc.edu 252 726-6841
Deanna Napier Administrative Assistant mdgood@live.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 120
Ryan Neve Research Technician neve@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 179
Isabelle Neylan Research Technician ineylan@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 219
Tessa Pfeifer Research Technician tpfeifer@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 220
Abigail Poray Research Technician abigail.poray@unc.edu 252 726-684 ext 218
Nadine Potter Bldg. Enviromental Tech npotter@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841, page
Joseph Purifoy R/V Captain/Boating Instructor capt_joe_usa@yahoo.com 252 726-6841 ext 151
Karen Rossignol Research Technician krossign@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 230
Glenn Safrit Dive Safety Officer gsafrit@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 151
Randy Sloup Research Technician randys@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 134
Jimmy Smith Janitor jimmy61@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841, page
Jean Stack Business Coordinator cstack@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 123
Suzanne Thompson Research Technician sthompso@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 161
Lexie Weber Research Technician abweber@live.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext
Tony Whipple Research Technician whipple@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 179
Katie Wood Grants Manager woodke@email.unc.edu 252 726-6841 ext 123

 

resident graduate students

Martin Benavides Dr. Fodrie’s lab benavides@unc.edu
Michelle Brodeur Dr. Fodrie’s lab mbrodeur@email.unc.edu
Rachel Canty Dr. Noble’s lab rcanty@live.unc.edu
Charlie Deaton Dr. Luettich’s lab cddeaton@live.unc.edu
Linghan Dong Dr. Paerl’s lab lhdong@email.unc.edu
Jie Gao Dr. Luettich’s lab jiegao@email.unc.edu
Adam Gold Dr. Piehler’s lab acgold@live.unc.edu
Jana Haddad Dr. Luettich’s lab jhaddad2@live.unc.edu
Justin Hart Dr. Noble’s lab justhart@live.unc.edu
Alexandria Hounshell Dr. Paerl’s lab alexgh@live.unc.edu
Kelsey Jesser Dr. Noble’s lab kjesser@live.unc.edu
Danielle Keller Dr. Fodrie’s lab dabbey@email.unc.edu
Matt Kenworthy Dr. Fodrie’s lab mkenwor@email.unc.edu
Ian Kroll Dr. Fodrie’s lab ikroll@live.unc.edu
Kellen Lauer Dr. Noble’s lab kclauer@live.unc.edu
David Marshall Dr. Rosman’s lab dmarshall@unc.edu
Kathleen Onorevole Dr. Piehler’s lab onorevol@live.unc.edu
Avery Paxton Dr. Peterson’s lab abpaxton@live.unc.edu
Amy Pflaumer Dr. Paerl’s lab pflaumer@email.unc.edu
Justin Ridge Dr. Rodriguez’s lab jtridge@email.unc.edu
Carter Smith Dr. Peterson’s lab scarters@email.unc.edu
Greg Sorg Dr. Lindquist’s lab sorg@live.unc.edu
Max Tice-Lewis Dr. Fodrie’s lab mwell13@email.unc.edu
Olivia Torano Dr. Piehler’s lab omtorano@email.unc.edu
Bryce Van Dam Dr. Paerl’s lab bvandam@live.unc.edu
Amy Yarnall Dr. Fodrie’s lab amyhalli@live.unc.edu
Erika Young Dr. Peterson’s lab elyoung@email.unc.edu
Shelby Ziegler Dr. Fodrie’s lab sziegler@live.unc.edu

 

resident postdoctoral researchers

Xiao Yu Dr. Rosman’s lab yuxiao03@email.unc.edu

 

resident research associates

Nathan Hall Dr. Paerl’s lab nshall@email.unc.edu
Chris Voss Dr. Peterson’s lab christinemvoss@gmail.com